Skip to content

iPhone/iPad SDK SQLite tips

April 8, 2010

When working with SQLite databases in the iPad and iPhone SDKs, I have found that the most efficient way to communicate with the database is to use an SQLite objective-c wrapper. The one I found that I really like can be found at: http://th30z.netsons.org/2008/11/objective-c-sqlite-wrapper/ . The wrapper is extremely lightweight (1 class), and it brings all the benefits of using object-oriented programming while still allowing you to work directly with the Structured Query Language (SQL).

When using a database that is being written to, you need to copy the database file (at runtime) into the documents directory in order for the database to be backed up by iTunes and what not. I will be posting code on how to do this operation later.

Lastly, make sure that your database file has the extension of “.sql”. I found that when using the extension “.db”, the database kept telling me that there was no table to access.

Once again, I will be posting code examples later. Also, I am currently working on part 2 of my Youtube SQLite series.

Thanks for reading my blog!

My Youtube: http://youtube.com/ConnorAlves

My Twitter:
http://twitter.com/connor20

From → regular

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

